Washington DC Day 7, Discon 3 Day 2

I started out the day with doing some work at the info desk. Then it was Stroll With the Stars where I got to talk to Vince Doherty about orchestra performance and Joe Iriarte about many things including what makes good karaoke. Dr. Deb told us some fun stories during our walk.

Then I checked out the Art Show and Dealers Room. There is stuff I really want. I will head back later since I never buy on the first day. I also got some signatures on my souvenir book. Then I went to panels.

  • Adding Fannish Skills to Your Resumé
  • Let’s Judge a Book By Its Cover
  • Nancy Kress in Conversation
  • Chicon 8 Presents
  • Washington Metropolitan Gamer Symphony Orchestra (pictured above)

I then went to the Public Hugo Finalist Reception. I got to finally meet Olav Rokne of the Unofficial Hugo Book Club blog. I also got to hang out with Shaun Duke and Paul Weimer. I bumped into Chris Barkley and talked about things we were talking about online. I then helped out at the Info Desk and I got to meet Jenny Nicholson, YouTube blogger and Hugo Finalist. She does great video reviews and commentaries. Then it was time for John Scalzi Dance Party. Fun as always and a good mix of music.

Today panels, signings, and Masquerade.

Leave a comment