Washington DC Day 8, Discon 3 Day 3

I did some work at the Info Desk before the Stroll with the Stars. Deb took us in front of many embassies including those of the France, Portugal, and Ukraine. She told us the story of Abraham Lincoln’s pets. After that it was a trip to Dealers Room to get the rest of my Scalzi books signed and I checked out the stuff I wanted to buy. Then I emailed The Writer’s Block to see if they can John Scalzi for his next book tour.

I went to the following panels:

  • Sheree Renée Thomas with Danian Darrell Jerry
  • Gary K. Wolfe interviews Nancy Kress
  • The Seiun Award & Japanese SF today

I helped out by monitoring a accessibility elevator that had a problem. Then I worked as a Den Mom for the Masquerade. The Masquerade had 11 entries and I had the last four contestants in my Den. Best in Show was the La Calavera based on John Picacio’s Loteria‘s series of paintings (pictured above). Other notable entries were Tasha Yarn and Bo Peep.

Then I ended the night with The Rocky Horror Picture Show presented by the Sonic Traducers cast. It is interesting seeing another cast do the show. I got to my favorite line about how the film does not make any sense.

Today the Hugos.

Leave a comment