Chicago Day 7, Chicon 8 Day 1

My badge. I may open with this when I get more ribbons.

After fixing a problem, I was finally registered for the con. I had forgotten to upgrade from supporting to attending. I blame COVID.

Afterwards I joined the team at the Press Office. After a quick talk we got to work. We were also acting as another Info Desk, answering questions to those who came by. Many were looking for Grand Hall rooms which were on our floor.

I was on one panel on The Expanse. This was a hybrid panel. It was both live and streamed online. We talked about why we loved the show and what to look for in the future. One of the things I opened up with was George Lucas’ need for drama brought sound to space and so far only For All Mankind has taken it out. Below someone on Twitter snapped a picture of the panel, with is Bob Hranek (moderator) and Patrick S. Tomlinson.

Later I went to a reading by two Florida writers José Pablo Iriarte (2022 Hugo Finalist) and Elle E. Ire. I was able to ask them some questions about their work. Ire named a western town Oblivion and I told her Peter David named a space western town Oblivion in a small film of the same name in the 90s.

Then was Opening Ceremonies led by Toastmasters Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz (see below). It got to a rough start with the speakers not working, but after that it was a great success. The Hugo base and the First Fandom awards were presented. There was a special award by the con committee for Internet Speculative Fiction Database. Then all the Guest of Honor on site were interviewed by the toastmasters. It was a well attended Opening Ceremony.

After that I got back to my room.and listened to a bit of Kevin Smith and Marc Bernardin on a live Fatman on Batman podcast. Then I checked out the parties to see who was there. The Engine Room party had some great design and atmosphere. At the Glasglow party I got to discuss short fiction.

I leave with a hall costume winner. A Twi’lek Starfleet Officer of the 23rd Century who gave me a Republic credit.

Today another panel, some signings, and seeing people.

Leave a comment