Chicago Day 9, Chicon 8 Day 2

The starting by stopping by the setup for Stroll with the Stars and saying hi to Shaun Duke, Trish E. Matson, Brandon O’Brien, and Paul Weimer. Then I headed to the Press Office for the morning meeting.

I was on The Streaming Wars panel were we talking about the future of media. I was prepared to defend the future of theatrical film but it never came up. We discussed niche and broad market forces in the new media world. People were engaged on both sides of the table.

Then I got some books signed by Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz. Then I went up to my room for a virtual panel. It was an interview of Guest of Honor Dr. Eve L. Ewing by Michi Trota. There was some challenges to get started but it did and it was a great interview.

After shutting down the Press Office, I checked out the Art Show and the Erle Korshak art exhibit. The art show contain art from Joe Siclari’s and Edie Sterns’ collection. Each piece had some commentary from Joe and Edie.

I had dinner with my cousins Anna and Ruben David at Stetson’s. Then I checked out the parties. I was impressed with Chengdu’s video about the city and Chinese SF scene. It is pity the current political and social pressures this team will have to deal with. I stopped also at Starbase Indy which is a fan run Trek convention. Then I headed out.

Today some more panels live and virtual and Masquerade.

Below are some hall costumes.

Leave a comment