Chicago Day 11, Chicon 8 Day 4

This was going to be a big day.

I went on a Stroll With the Stars so I could catch up with the team of Hugo, Girl podcast. We did a quick trip to the water tower which survived the Great Fire. It was first time I remember that I was rained on during the Stroll with the Stars.

Then it was working at the Press Office. I left briefly to checkout the Dealers Room were I finally met Jim Wright, a retired Navy Chief Warrant Officer and political and cultural commentator on Twitter. I also bought an issue of Locus that got damaged in my backpack. I also eyed some other things I might get.

I briefly checked out the Business Meeting. I was late but found out the proposal to remove the the 25% rule (long story for here). I still want to vote down the Pros vs. Fan proposal.

I went to the Guest of Honors panels for Eric Wilkerson, Joe Siclari, Edie Stern, and Gene Ha. These are great talents. For time purposes I am posting Joe’s and Edie’s talk. I have known a long time when they lived in Florida and have shown me kindness.

Then it was Hugo time. After getting dressed, I went to the Hugo reception with my Press List to make sure the Press got to their space at the ceremony. Then the ceremony itself. Charlie Jane Anders and Annalee Newitz kept the ceremony at a brisk pace and had some lovely goofy humor. There were great guest presenters coming from the conventions Guests of Honor and Fan Fund representatives. I was able to get my Hugo picture from David Glinton (sp?), a writer on The Expanse. I then met up with Lori, Haley, and Kevin from Hugo, Girl and we went to the Glasgow party for awhile were saw the Octothorpe podcast team and fellow Florida fan Kimiye Tipton. After talking for a a bit, I went got a pizza slice and Gatorade then crashed.

Below is a big shot of all the attending winners.

Today some small stuff before heading home.

2 thoughts on “Chicago Day 11, Chicon 8 Day 4

  1. Bummed I couldn’t muster the energy to hit the Glasgow party after the ceremony – sorry to miss drinking toilet punch with you! So glad I finally got to meet you in person this weekend – a real treat.

    Like

Leave a comment